Subscribe Us

JUST IN: Osun State Govt Orders Total Lockdown Of Four Local Government Areas (See Names)


The Osun State Governor, Gboyega Oyetola has ordered a total lockdown in four local government areas in the state for one week.

This was contained in a statement issued by the State’s Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mrs. Funke Egbemode.

She noted that, the decision was made during the meeting between the government and the stakeholders from the areas to curtail the spread of COVID-19 in the communities.

The lockdown is expected to commence on Tuesday, July 7, in the named local government areas, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Atakumosa East, and Atakumosa West for seven days in the first instance.

The Commissioner further stressed that the lockdown would be total with no intrastate movement within the communities and that residents will not have the opportunity to go to worship centres, markets during the period. 

She added that if the compliance level is not encouraging, the government will announce a further extension in the communities.

She however urged citizens and residents of the affected communities to take advantage of the hours between now and Monday to stock up provisions that will last them one week in the first instance.

Meanwhile, the relaxation in other areas of the state has been extended by two weeks and curfew will still run from 9.p.m to 5.a.m daily.

Post a Comment