Subscribe Us

EDUCATION: See States That Support FG’s Decision To Suspend WASSCE And School Reopening


Commissioners of Education in the north have supported the Federal Government’s decision to suspend WASSCE and school reopening indefinitely.

This was contained in a statement released in Kaduna on Saturday, after a virtual meeting.

The statement was duly signed by Dr Shehu Makarfi, the Chairman of the Northern States School Exchange Programme who is also the Commissioner of Education,  Kaduna.

The commissioners disclosed that, keeping schools closed due to the spike in cases of COVID-19 across the country is a good step in ensuring that children remain safe.

They later resolved that schools should be reopened only when it is safe, until then, no student will participate in the West African Senior School Certificate Examination and other examinations.

It was learnt out of the 19 states,  13 Commissioners attended.

They are: Kaduna, Bauchi, Gombe, Niger, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Taraba, Kogi, Kwara, Katsina, Kano, Borno and Jigawa.

Post a Comment