Subscribe Us

Kogi, Kano Governments Set To Close All Entry Points In The States


Report says, Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello has authorized the closure of all entry points into the state, including land and waterways immediately.

This was disclosed by the Commissioner for Information and Communication, Kingsley Fanwo yesterday while speaking to the newsmen adding that important entries would be under rigorous check.

He reiterated  that the state government’s directive to shut all educational institutions in the state, from Monday, March 23, 2020, would remain indefinitely. 

He further added  that the Kogi State COVID-19 Squadron Committee inaugurated on Monday would enforce compliance with these preventive measures.

In similar development, Kano State Government has ordered the closure of all borders linking the state from other parts of the country from Friday in a bid to curtail the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.

This was disclosed in a statement signed during the mid – night by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Abba Anwar who acknowledged that the decision is hard but necessary especially as the state is yet to record any positive case.

The statement reads:

“This decision is hard, but absolutely necessary, as part of precautionary measures against the deadly COVID-19 possible spread. We urge Kano citizens and all other Nigerians to bear with this difficult situation.

"People must cooperate with health workers and all other stakeholders to make sure that our state is safe and the country in general.”

 “All members of the public should stay away from going to markets, unless for essential needs”.

"While borders would remain shut, according to the governor, the state would continue studying the situation and keep people abreast of any development.

“We are therefore calling on people to keep on praying and make sure that they always abide by all the medical advices given by health workers,”

It would be recalled that, as at 11:25pm on Wednesday 25 March, Nigeria has recorded 51 cases of COVID-19 spreading across 9 states in the country.

Post a Comment